Network services filters

Started by onebigfish, February 02, 2022, 02:08:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

onebigfish

I have never used network service filters before, but I think that is what I need in the following scenario. I need to replicate a network configuration that a customer has so that we can troubleshoot a situation with one of our controls. This is the information I got from their network administrator:

"All inbound and outbound traffic is blocked unless we explicitly allow it, though I think we always have ports 80 and 443 open. Only the traffic you requested be whitelisted has been allowed (except for port 22 SSH)."

I have assigned one of our controls a static IP address. What I am trying to do is block all incoming and outgoing traffic through our gateway router (Asus RT-AX58U) except for ports 80, 443, and a few others that our controls use for that IP address. I am assuming that the filter table type "deny" will block items I list in the table, while "allow" will block everything except what I put in the table.

Let's say the control's IP address is 192.168.1.123 and the router's is 192.168.1.19. I have never used these before so I am wondering if someone can tell me which numbers go where in the table? Or is there a better way to do this?

/OBF

icecream-guy

from the Manual:

The Network Services Filter blocks LAN to WAN packet exchanges
and restricts network clients from accessing specific web services
such as Telnet or FTP.

Select the Filter table type. Black List blocks the specified
network services. White List limits access to only the specified
network services.

Specify the day and time when the filters will be active.

To specify a Network Service to filter, enter the Source IP,
Destination IP, Port Range, and Protocol. Click the + button.

Click Apply.

I am guessing that DENY is blacklist and
ALLOW is white list.
--

this seems to only apply outbound

DMZ appears to open _all_ ports to inside host.